When you got a Passion…

…you damn sure better work your ass off for it.

Yes, I’m going to waive my pride and admit that I watched the Video Music Awards tonight. Yup Yup, I tuned in and it actually was not too bad. From Adele nearly bringing me (as well as most of the crowd) to tears, to Beyonce making the big announcement about her pregnancy it was a pretty decent night.

Performances and celebrities aside, what was on my mind was that through all of the glitz and glam, all those people on the screen were just that-people. Now more than ever; because of my jewelry business; I am realizing that all (most) of those people got to where they were because

1. They had the balls to commit to their dream and go through the grind without knowing the eventual outcome. This                                           means a lot of sleepless nights, a lot of Rice-A-Roni dinners, and a lot of loses and disappointment.

2. They had the right combination of perseverance, willingness to get down and dirty, and, of course, luck. For all those                               people we saw on the Awards tonight, there are about a million more who never will get that opportunity. But the key is,                                 even though they may never get the chance at an opportunity such as the band Young the Giant got in performing live                                     at the VMA’s, they still hustle on because it’s what they love. And as a side note, I had to mention Young the Giant                                             because you could see the absolute triumph all over the lead singers face and you could most definitely hear it in his                                       voice. That excites me to see people who love what they do and also get the opportunity to make it big in what they                                       do.

I guess in all of this, this post really has become more of an open letter to myself. I hope that in a few years, I can look back on this and smile because I never gave up on what I loved, especially since right now there is a lot of pressure on me to choose between what is the ‘right’ thing to do vs. following my passion.

The VMA’s had me reflecting back on my conversation with my Dad, wherein he told me that people stupidly hold on to things, even when it is taking them nowhere. That people need to learn to cut their loses and pursue careers that will actually bring home an income. I told him, that was ridiculous. If you love something enough, you’ll have the perseverance to ride the highs and the lows of it. He proceeded to tell me that I sounded just like he did when he was younger-an idealist. And that…

“When you grow up and have to put a roof over your head and feed yourself and maybe a family too, you’ll learn quickly that you’ll have to sacrifice some things and give up on things that aren’t working for you to make ends meet.”

Maybe I’m too young and not mature enough yet to really get the point of what he said, but what I read from his statement was that growing up is about  not pursuing dreams with full abandon. Maybe that sounds a little drastic and a lot more severe than what he was actually saying, but why would I give up on something I love. I believe that if you want something, you have to go for it and suffer the consequences. I have never understood when people commit to a goal or ‘say’ they want something really  bad, but then they either never take steps towards achieving their goal or give up at the first sign of resistance.

Life is hard. Life is miserable. And life will break you down if you let it.

But life is also beautiful, inspiring, and breathtaking and I refuse to let that slip by me.

So, here I am 650 words later feeling like another young yuppie going on about all my ideals in life. I am only 19. I know this and own this. But I’ve been alive long enough to know that I have to figure my shit out if I want to live my life, instead of just existing in it. And I have to believe, that if the likes of MLK can change the state of a nation based on ideals, I can do it too. He, along with countless others risked/lost their lives and fought the odds so that the realization of “I have a Dream” could one day come to be.  I always feel obligated to take full advantages of the life I have been granted. Especially with being a young black woman in college. Not so long  ago, that sentence would not have even been feasible.

And for that, I am grateful. : D

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

