Day 6 Fried Egg Caprese

Image

So… today’s breakfast is coming at y’all a little late because we FINALLY went grocery shopping! I mean we were getting to that desperate point of eating peanut butter and tuna because we didn’t have any food left. If you haven’t noticed, the past few breakfast’s have been sweet dishes, which is not what I usually tend to go for first thing in the morning. I’m more of a savory foods person first thing in the morning because anything too sweet makes me a little queasy. But, i’m excited to finally have more variety to choose from because yesterday’s post of Whole Wheat Waffles literally cleaned out our pantry. It used the last of our butter, eggs, wheat flour, vanilla extract, milk, baking powder, and brown sugar. See, I wasn’t lying, we were at the bare minimum on food. It’s nothing a little trip to the grocery store can’t fix. So in honour of this wonderful day, I decided to play dress up and get a little fancy with breakfast.

Image

Ingredients

  • fresh mozzarella
  • fresh basil
  • 1 beefsteak tomato
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper

Image

How-To

  • slice tomatoes and mozzarella into 1/8″ thick strips
  • layer mozzarella on top of tomato, on top of basil then repeat until you run out of food
  • drizzle olive oil on top then season with the salt and pepper
  • fry an egg in the sauce pan then either layer the egg on top of the caprese or to the side
  • Enjoy!

Image

This combination is so simple and delicious and I especially love my eggs fried over easy so that the runny yolk mixes with the juices of the caprese. Love it! Hope you love it too. Let me know in the comments what y’all think, or if you have any suggestions for what I should make next.

Peace : )

 

3 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Urban Farm Foodista and commented:
    Always gotta go with a pretty egg dish!

    June 18, 2012 at 9:46 am

  2. What a great idea to have a salad with a fried egg for breakfast. I can eat tomatoes or eggs any time of day. This looks so good, that I think I am having this for breakfast tomorrow.

    June 19, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    • There are so many great foods that are overlooked for breakfast because they don’t fall in the traditional breakfast category. Let me know how your breakfast goes. I’m excited to hear about it!

      June 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Leave a Reply

